HOME > Meetings of the States Parties > 6MSP > About the 6MSP > 

General Operations of the Convention

  • It was agreed that the four Standing Committees established by the States Parties will meet in Geneva the week of 8 to 12 May 2006

  • The following States Parties were selected to serve as the Standing Committees’ Co-Chairs and Co-Rapporteurs until the end of the Seventh Meeting of the States Parties: 

    • Mine Clearance, Mine-Risk Education and Mine-Action Technologies: Jordan and Slovenia (Co-Chairs); Chile and Norway (Co-Rapporteurs); 

    • Victim Assistance and Socio-Economic Reintegration: Afghanistan and Switzerland (Co-Chairs); Austria and Sudan (Co-Rapporteurs); 

    • Stockpile Destruction: Japan and the United Republic of Tanzania (Co-Chairs); Algeria and Estonia (Co-Rapporteurs); 

    • General Status and Operation of the Convention: Belgium and Guatemala (Co-Chairs); Argentina and Italy (Co-Rapporteurs). 

  • It was agreed that the Seventh Meeting of the States Parties (7MSP) would be held in Geneva from 18 to 22 September 2006 and that Australia would preside over the 7MSP. 

  • The offer made by Jordan to host and preside over the Eighth Meeting of the States Parties (8MSP) in 2007 was warmly welcomed. 

  • The report of the Director of the GICHD on the activities of the Implementation Support Unit (ISU) was noted.